Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Norway - Full Moon 101 - 12/26/04

Beatifully Smart
35g Records

Norwegian band AqPop have an intriguing, slightly psychedelic sound. Opener "Have It" carries echoes of Mercury Rev and Flaming Lips. Singer Thor Jørgen Holm sounds wistful while the band weaves a dream-like melody around his vocal.

The groovy sixties-influenced number "Radio 60" sounds like what Swedes The Creeps were doing in 1990. "Relate that Something" is smart pop with a real sense of urgency. "That Day" uses Jade Hasselgård's sweet vocal to great effect, the songs melancholy mood works well too. Towards the end the band interrupts the calm with a guitar maelstrom and allow Holm to take the lead.

"Caught by this Feeling" is progressive leaning masterstroke with dissonant guitar squalls and a vocal that appears to belong in another song. The mood soon shifts and a Pink Floyd-like bit follows.

This is a strong and focused debut.

Copyright © 2004 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

You may also want to check out our AqPop article/review: Fight vs Ride EP.

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    Vinyl collector? We recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of vinyl records for sale, like:
  • Amanaz: Africa (LP 1975/Re 2008 LTD 450)
  • Chrissy Zebby Tembo & Ngozi Family: My Ancestors (LP 1974/Re 2012500 LTD 500)
  • David Sylvian: Dead Bees On A Cake (2xLP 1999/Re 2018)
  • Freedoms Children: Shadoks Box (3xLP Box 2007)
  • Guruh Gipsy: S/T (LP 1977/Re 2006)
  • Mogwai: Rave Tapes (LP+12+7+CD+MC BOX 2014)
  • Odium: The Sad Realm Of The Stars (LP 2013 LTD 100)
  • Omar Rodriguez Lopez & John Frusciante: S/T (LP 2012 LTD 1000)
  • Opium Cartel: Ardor (LP 2014)
  • Purple Overdose: Indigo (LP 1990)

We also have 726 other articles/reviews of artists from Norway in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé