Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag England - Full Moon 103 - 02/24/05

Redlands Palomino Co
By the Time You Hear This We'll Be Gone
Laughing Outlaw

Alex and Hannah Elton-Wall are the songwriting and singing part of this magical group. They're playing what might be called Americana or modern country. The opener "Music's On" gets it right straight on. It's a mournful but evocative gem with Hannah in beautiful voice. "Temptation" is rowdy roots rock in the vein of Whiskeytown. "Get on the train" is a ballad with a marvelous chorus. "Doin' It for the country" is a song highlighting Alex' gravelly voice, that has a delightful stonesy swagger to it. "Make Tonight Last" is a bittersweet duet between the couple that still feels hopeful.

There's hardly a note on this record that sounds wrong, in fact there's an exquisite rightness about it. Contrary to the title I think we'll hear much more of the group.

Copyright © 2005 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Baroness: Yellow & Green (2xLP Deluxe Book Edition 2012)
  • Extradition: Hush (LP 1971/Re 2000 LTD 450)
  • Kerrs Pink: Tidings (LP 2002/Re 2012 LTD 100)
  • Lykathea Aflame: Elvenefris (2xLP 2000/Re 2012 LTD 150)
  • Mogwai: Rave Tapes (LP+12+7+CD+MC BOX 2014)
  • Mona & Maria: My Sun (LP 2013 LTD 100)
  • Monstrance: S/T (2xCD 2007)
  • Purple Overdose: Indigo (LP 1990)
  • Richard Skelton: Landings (2xLP+CD 2009)
  • Sonne Hagal: Only Echoes Remain (2xLP 2010 LTD 100)

We also have 574 other articles/reviews of artists from England in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé