Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Norway - Full Moon 105 - 04/24/05

Thulsa Doom
Need The Air
Big Dipper Records

The second and last track on this single is an mpeg video live version of the previously unreleased song "Got To Have Mine". After several attempts, I've given up to open the file, alas! So let's concentrate on the title track, shall we? "Need The Air" is what might be described as hard rock in the early 70s, as rock with elements of grunge by the late 80s and stoner-rock with a little extra today. Guitarist Reverend Doom Perignon has taken over the vocal duties. He's less, ... eh exhausting, to listen to than his predecessor, and the song has more pop and less stoner-elements than earlier recordings. To me the song sounds like ... rock, dominated by the guitars with some nice melodic pop leanings, especially the vocal harmonies. There's a nice steel guitar break incuded, too! (Normally I hate steel guitars, not so here...) The song is even hummable! And do we hear a string-sounding keyboard thrown in for good measure towards the end? The single - at least the first part - is an excellent appetizer for - and comment on the title of - the new album Keyboard, Oh Lord! Why Don't We, Thulsa's third, that by now hit the streets a little while ago.

There's a sign over the door of the Big Dipper record shop in Oslo with the words Thulsa Doom's Gate. Not without good reason!

Copyright © 2005 JP e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Arcesia: Reachin' (LP 1997 LTD 400)
  • Baroness: Yellow & Green (2xLP Deluxe Book Edition 2012)
  • Dragonwyck: S/T (LP+10" 1970/Re 2008)
  • Extradition: Hush (LP 1971/Re LTD 450)
  • Gareth Williams & Mary Currie: Flaming Tunes (LP 1985/Re 2012 LTD 1000)
  • Ihsahn: The Adversary (2xLP 2006/Re 2012 LTD 100)
  • Mary Jane: Tacit (LP 2002 LTD 400)
  • Mona & Maria: My Sun (LP 2013 LTD 100)
  • Omar Rodriguez Lopez & John Frusciante: S/T (LP 2012 LTD 1000)
  • Psychic TV: Dreams Less Sweet (LP+CD 1983/Re 2012 LTD 320)

We also have 727 other articles/reviews of artists from Norway in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé