Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Sweden - Full Moon 108 - 07/21/05

Vanessa Liftig
When Will Is Silent
Eld Records

Vanessa Liftig was a guest on rapper Embee's solo record and got some attention for that. Her debut solo record is a very intimate-sounding, bare record.

No big gestures for this singer. Her soft, jazzy style recalls a young Stina Nordenstam. "Slow Seconds" is a nice little song with fretless bass and guitar framing Liftig's curiously timid ode to lust. 'Shivering I seek your lips And tongue meets tongue Desire meets desire', she intones. Someone else would sing this with a touch of fervor, but Liftig's shyness has an appeal of its own.

"Simplified" is like a charcoal sketch of song, so bare is it. 'I'm so beautifully simplified', she sings, aptly describing her sound. "My Darling you" is as cute as a purring kitten. Liftig sings her words of love to a minimal backing. "When Will is Silent" is apparently about some boy named Will rather than the word. The music's sweet and the saxophone adds a nice touch. This album ends with a long wait for the bonus track, I thought artists were past that sort of a thing by now. Still, it's a promising debut and Liftig has real talent.

Copyright © 2005 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Backstreet Girls: Mental Shakedown (LP 1989)
  • Clientele: The Violet Hour (LP 2003)
  • Lykathea Aflame: Elvenefris (2xLP 2000/Re 2012 LTD 150)
  • Mary Jane: Tacit (LP 2002 LTD 400)
  • Mona & Maria: My Sun (LP 2013 LTD 100)
  • Monstrance: S/T (2xCD 2007)
  • Richard Skelton: Landings (2xLP+CD 2009)
  • Ruphus: New Born Day (LP 1973/Re 2010 LTD 100)
  • Spoils Of War: S/T (LP 1969/Re 1999 LTD 450)
  • Thule: Graks (LP 2010 LTD 300)

We also have 164 other articles/reviews of artists from Sweden in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé