Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Australia - Full Moon 110 - 09/18/05

Modern Giant
Satellite Nights
Popboomerang Records

Modern Giant's debut starts with the exuberant "I'm Not Broken" with lovely vocals by Gynia Favot. Their music is pretty but capable of surprising grit. "Hell is Other People" is a Satre quote but here it is a guitar pop nugget. "The Band's Broken Up" features an earthy spoken word bit by bassist Adam Gibson. It's here that the bands unique nature lies. Not many bands would combine spoken word and pop, but it works.

"I Thought You Were Somebody Else" is a cute song with a slight do-wop influence. Now there's something you don't hear everyday. The extraordinary "Angie Hart" is a moving tribute to the influence of Frente's singer. Gibson's tale is fascinating. This is a great debut.

Copyright © 2005 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Amanaz: Africa (LP 1975/Re 2008 LTD 450)
  • Death In June / Current 93: 1888 (LP 1990 LTD 1000)
  • Dragonwyck: S/T (LP+10" 1970/Re 2008)
  • Juan de la Cruz Band: Up In Arms (LP 1971/Re 2000 LTD 450)
  • Kaizers Orchestra: 250 Prosent (LP 2008)
  • Mary Jane: Tacit (LP 2002 LTD 400)
  • Pekka Pohjola: 4xLP (LP 1972-79/Re 2015 LTD 200)
  • Pete Fine: On A Day Of Crystaline Thought (LP 1974/Re 2000 LTD 450)
  • Spoils Of War: S/T (LP 1969/Re 1999 LTD 450)
  • Walflower Complextion: S/T (2xLP 199? LTD 450)

We also have 214 other articles/reviews of artists from Australia in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé