Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag US - Florida - Full Moon 114 - 01/14/06

Electric President
Electric President
Morr Music

Electric President is Ben Cooper and Alex Kane. Their debut is glittering pop symphonies done in an eclectic way. "Good Morning, Hypocrite" is as lovely as anything Death Cab for Cutie has done and just as hummable. "Ten Thousand Lies" is a sedate song that pits Cooper's angelic vocal against a dreamy backing. "Hum" has a child-like lead vocal and the words "What do you think about me now that I've fallen down" sung with rapt wonder. "Metal Fingers" is Beck on Valium, a lo-fi nightmare at first. It starts slow and meandering and then gradually it builds to a sunny state. The closer "Farewell" starts out distorted but finds its calm heart soon. Electric President's debut is brilliant.

Copyright © 2006 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

You may also want to check out our Electric President articles/reviews: Sleep Well, The Violent Blue.

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Deathprod: Deathprod (4xCD Box 2004)
  • Led Zeppelin: The Song Remains The Same (4xLP Box 2008)
  • Metallica: Ride The Lightning (2xLP 1984/Re 2009)
  • The Whitest Boy Alive: Dreams (LP 2007 LTD 488)
  • Death In June / Current 93: 1888 (LP 1990 LTD 1000)
  • Omar Rodriguez Lopez & John Frusciante: S/T (LP 2012 LTD 1000)
  • Pearls Before Swine: One Nation Underground (LP 1967/Re 2009 LTD 1000)
  • Pekka Pohjola: 4xLP (LP 1972-79/Re 2015 LTD 200)
  • Purple Overdose: Indigo (LP 1990)
  • Supersilent: 6 (2xLP 2003)

We also have 30 other articles/reviews of artists from US, Florida in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé