Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé article
coverpic flag US - California - Full Moon 121 - 08/09/06

Love - till death did us apart
Arthur Lee 1945-2006

Last Thursday, August 3rd, Arthur Lee left. Love finally died. But some recorded 'love letters' are left.

African-American Lee (Arthur Taylor Porter) formed the folksy, garagey, psychedelic, mariachi trumpet pop-rock combo Love in the midst of the 60s, and they put out some great recordings in two years: Love (1966), Da Capo (1967), and the C.L.A.S.S.I.C. Forever Changes (also 1967). The Love core, apart from Lee, was Johnny Echols (lead guitar), Bryan MacLean (guitar), Ken Forssi (bass) and Michael Stuart (drums). Love also counted Alban "snoopy" Pfisterer (drummer on Love, later harpsichord) and Tjay Cantrelli (sax, flute). Lee broke up the band in 1968, but Love reformed (with new line-ups, mainly session-musicians) to record a few more albums, 1969's Four Sail and Out Here, to name the better ones. Then Lee headed into the 1970s with a couple of solo attempts, Vindicator (1972) and Black Beauty (1973) before... mainly silence.

The 70s went by, and so did the 1980s. Until the early 90s, when Arthur Lee re-appeared with a new recording, a single (in 1994). Then Lee got in trouble with the law. Seriously. After an incident involving a fire-arm he was sentenced to several years in prison. He was released in December 2001, and the following year Lee began touring old Love songs again, as Arthur Lee & Love. Which he pretty much did until he got ill. Badly. Really glad to see and hear him on his 2nd (?) visit to Oslo two years ago.

A benefit concert - 'We're doing it for Love' - was thrown June 26th this year, with the likes of Love-guitarist Johnny Echols, Robert Plant, Ian Hunter, Ryan Adams, Yo La Tengo, Nils Lofgren, Garland Jeffreys, Alec Ounsworth (of Clap Your Hands Say Yeah), plus others.

Get hold of Forever Changes immediately. It's part of the history of pop/rock curriculum. The 1995 two-disc compilation Love Story could be another good place to start.

Check out this site. Hail. Peace.

With love

Copyright © 2006 Håvard Oppøyen e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Extradition: Hush (LP 1971/Re 2000 LTD 450)
  • Lonely Kamel: S/T (LP 2010 LTD 100)
  • Lykathea Aflame: Elvenefris (2xLP 2000/Re 2012 LTD 150)
  • Magnetic Fields: 69 Love Songs (6x10 Box Set 2010)
  • Mary Jane: Tacit (LP 2002 LTD 400)
  • Monstrance: S/T (2xCD 2007)
  • Opium Cartel: Night Blooms (LP 2009 LTD 100)
  • Purple Overdose: Indigo (LP 1990)
  • Rex Rudi: Alt er vel (2xLP 2008 LTD 212)
  • Ruphus: New Born Day (LP 1973/Re 2010 LTD 100)

We also have 416 other articles/reviews of artists from US, California in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé