Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag US - California - Full Moon 130 - 05/02/07

George Ellsworth
American Compost

George Ellsworth has written and performed since the seventies but this is only his second album. He's a thoughtful, expressive songwriter and he delivers good songs on this album.

"Mr Ellsworth's Sunday Morning Song" sees him singing of a captain who holds all the answers. It's very Dylanesque and that's not just the title. "Everytime She Thinks of Alice" is sprightly and country-tinged. He sings of a woman's love for another woman. The title song reflects on how things grow from compost and how life takes unexpected turns. The melody seems borrowed from Van Morrison's "Sweet Thing".

"She's So Sweet" gives us a nice hook-filled singlaong with a nice lyric. It's funky and easy to love. Ellsworth's a fine songwriter and this is a nice record.

Copyright © 2007 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Bill Evans Trio: Waltz For Debby (LP 1961/Re 1992)
  • Dragonwyck: S/T (LP+10" 1970/Re 2008)
  • Gareth Williams & Mary Currie: Flaming Tunes (LP 1985/Re 2012 LTD 1000)
  • Juan de la Cruz Band: Up In Arms (LP 1971/Re 2000 LTD 450)
  • Kerrs Pink: Tidings (LP 2002/Re 2012 LTD 100)
  • Los Jaivas: El Volantin (LP 1971/Re 2005 LTD 350)
  • Madrugada: The Nightly Disease (4xLP 2001/Re 2011 LTD 500)
  • Mogwai: Special Moves (3xLP+DVD+CD 2010 LTD 1400)
  • Mona & Maria: My Sun (LP 2013 LTD 100)
  • Thule: Graks (LP 2010 LTD 300)

We also have 416 other articles/reviews of artists from US, California in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé