Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag England - Full Moon 131 - 06/01/07

I Fear No-One...
Elsewhen Records

Transmitters set ears ablaze with their postpunk irreverence in the late seventies. This compilation shows them as kin to the Fall and the Mekons, yet individual and fierce.

Some tracks hail from a John Peel session, ah, happy days. The abrasive sound is very modern sounding thanks to revivalists like Franz Ferdinand. This is less commercial and harder on the ears. But for fans of the Fall I don't see how you could go wrong. "Curious" is hardly a ballad, but softer an displays a neat chord sequence. At 22 tracks it drags at times but "Dead Siamese Sister" is a minor classic ripe for discovery amongst other choice cuts.

Copyright © 2007 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    Vinyl collector? We recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of vinyl records for sale, like:
  • Clientele: The Violet Hour (LP 2003)
  • Electric Eye: Different Sun (LP 2016 LTD 100)
  • Extradition: Hush (LP 1971/Re LTD 450)
  • Freedoms Children: Shadoks Box (3xLP Box 2007)
  • Ghost: If You Have Ghost (12" 2013 LTD 500)
  • Mona & Maria: My Sun (LP 2013 LTD 100)
  • Monstrance: S/T (2xCD w/t-shirt 2007)
  • Omar Rodriguez Lopez & John Frusciante: S/T (LP 2012 LTD 1000)
  • Sonne Hagal: Only Echoes Remain (2xLP 2010 LTD 100)
  • Walflower Complextion: S/T (2xLP 199? LTD 450)

We also have 574 other articles/reviews of artists from England in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé