Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag England - Full Moon 136 - 10/26/07

I.V Webb and the Heroines
Demo seeds
Self-released / Wilde Seed Records

I.V Webb has recorded these songs over a long period of time, yet they form a complete picture. She has a strong, supple voice and her songs have many facets. They are sparsely furnished, but they lack nothing.

"Stars" is soft yet has an intense flow and Webb's vocals are astoundingly lovely. "All my heroes are ghosts", she sighs. "Last Goodbye" details the end of a relationship poignantly. "The Kiss" is tough and yet flexible and Webb recalls Throwing Muses briefly. "Man I worship You" deals with the ambiguity of love, and builds into an intense moment. Webb's album is surely the sign that she will get the attention she deserves and that she'll make many more like it.

Copyright © 2007 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    Vinyl collector? We recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of vinyl records for sale, like:
  • Death In June / Current 93: 1888 (LP 1990 LTD 1000)
  • Deathprod: Deathprod (4xCD Box 2004)
  • Guruh Gipsy: S/T (LP 1977/Re 2006)
  • Kaleidoscope: S/T (LP 1969/Re 2011 LTD 500)
  • Led Zeppelin: The Song Remains The Same (4xLP Box 2008)
  • Lykathea Aflame: Elvenefris (2xLP 2000/Re 2012 LTD 150)
  • Madrugada: The Nightly Disease (4xLP 2001/Re 2011 LTD 500)
  • Motorpsycho: Demon Box (2xLP 1993/Re 2014 LTD 500)
  • Opium Cartel: Ardor (LP 2014)
  • Sister Rain: Promo Box (LP-CD Box 1988 LTD 99)

We also have 574 other articles/reviews of artists from England in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé