Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag US - Illinois - Full Moon 139 - 01/22/08

Stace England and the Salt Kings
Salt Sex Slaves
Rankoutsider Records

Stace England follows his debut with another batch of tales in a rockin' way. The title song has Stonesy swagger to it as it tells tales of slavery, which is the albums theme this time.

"Inequality in Equally" tells of a town called Equality where none is to be found. Salt Kings keep it tight and rhythmic. Jason Ringenberg turns up on the song "Freedom's Star" and sings beautifully. Throughout England tells tales of John Crenshaw, a man who depended on slavery to keep his business running. These tales of old have much to say of today. "Do It Right (And Set Yourself Free)" closes the circle and asks what enslaves us today.

It's another powerful record by England and one, which can enlighten us.

Copyright © 2008 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

You may also want to check out our Stace England and the Salt Kings articles/reviews: America, Illinois, The Amazing Oscar Micheaux.

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Donald Fagen: The Nightfly (2xLP 45RPM UltraDisc One-Step Box 1982/Re 2017)
  • Death In June / Current 93: 1888 (LP 1990 LTD 1000)
  • Freedoms Children: Shadoks Box (3xLP Box 2007)
  • Haizea: Hontz Gaua (LP 1979/Re 2003)
  • Pekka Pohjola: 4xLP (LP 1972-79/Re 2015 LTD 200)
  • Psychic TV: Dreams Less Sweet (LP+CD 1983/Re 2012 LTD 320)
  • Sky Sunlight Saxon / Vibravoid: A Poetry Of Love (LP 2010 LTD 200)
  • Spoils Of War: S/T (LP 1969/Re 1999 LTD 450)
  • Turbonegro: Sexual Harassment (LP 2012 LTD 500)
  • Walflower Complextion: S/T (2xLP 199? LTD 450)

We also have 99 other articles/reviews of artists from US, Illinois in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé