Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag US - Washington - Full Moon 140 - 02/21/08

Grand Archives
The Grand Archives
Sub Pop / Tuba!

Grand Archives is singer/guitarist Mat Brooke's new band. Brooke quit Band Of Horses (he also played with Ben Bridwell in Carissa's Wierd - the band before Band of Horses) just after their Everything All The Time was recorded. He opened up his Archives with some friends in September 2006. Curtis Hall (drums), Jeff Montano (bass), Ron Lewis (guitar/keyboard) and Thomas Wright (guitar) are now the other archivists.

Grand Archives sound a bit more 1960s pop than Band of Horses. Mamas & the Papas and the Turtles have been mentioned. And maybe a bit more country poppy. Gentle, innocent sounding pop songs sneak up on you. However, I sort of find it a bit too kind and nice sounding, almost too pale and bleak. Opener "Torn Blue Foam Couch" is cool and fine moment (second best song), and the up-tempo "The Crime Window" is the most punchy song with a certain party mood. "Swan Matches" is a beauty, and "A Setting Sun" is indeed charming. The closing "Orange Juice" is a neat, Caribbean 'the end'.

The Grand Archives is a bright and shiny collection of songs, but maybe not bright enough. Yet, it might be a grower.

Copyright © 2008 Håvard Oppøyen e-mail address

You may also want to check out our Grand Archives article/review: Keep In Mind Frankenstein.

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Amanaz: Africa (LP 1975/Re 2008 LTD 450)
  • Grannie: Grannie (LP 1971/Re 2006 LTD 400)
  • Horisont: Second Assault (LP Die Hard Edition 2012 LTD 100)
  • Magnetic Fields: 69 Love Songs (6x10 Box Set 2010)
  • Monstrance: S/T (2xCD 2007)
  • Pekka Pohjola: 4xLP (LP 1972-79/Re 2015 LTD 200)
  • Purple Overdose: Indigo (LP 1990)
  • Richard Skelton: Landings (2xLP+CD 2009)
  • Samuel Jackson Five: Easily Misunderstood (2xLP 2005/Re 2012 LTD 150)
  • Turbonegro: Sexual Harassment (LP 2012 LTD 500)

We also have 99 other articles/reviews of artists from US, Washington in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé