Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag US - California - Full Moon 148 - 10/14/08

Notes From The Edge
Notes From The Edge
Citysound Music

Kathy Fisher (of the band Fisher) and Mark Governor contribute to the project Notes From The Edge. They recorded a bunch of covers with an orchestra and the results are staggering.

Radiohead's "No Surprises" fits the concept and Fisher's vocals really get to the song's heart. Imogen Heap's "Hide and Seek" is an odd choice, but they pull it off admirably. The songs longing is perfectly captured and Fisher's voice is stunning. Peter Gabriel's "Digging in the Dirt" becomes more elegant in these hands, but no less tortured. Tom Waits' "Take It With Me" gets a sensitive and stirring reading. This is a fine album.

Copyright © 2008 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Ryanbanden: S/T (2xLP 2012 LTD 100)
  • Mogwai: Special Moves (3xLP+DVD+CD 2010 LTD 1400)
  • Mona & Maria: My Sun (LP 2013 LTD 100)
  • Omar Rodriguez Lopez & John Frusciante: S/T (LP 2012 LTD 1000)
  • Pekka Pohjola: 4xLP (LP 1972-79/Re 2015 LTD 200)
  • Purple Overdose: Indigo (LP 1990)
  • Richard Hawley: The Singles Club I-IV (4x10 Box 2012 LTD 500)
  • Sky Sunlight Saxon / Vibravoid: A Poetry Of Love (LP 2010 LTD 200)
  • Supersilent: 6 (2xLP 2003)
  • Ulver: Messe I.X-VI.X (LP Lent Leather-bound edition 2013 LTD 100)

We also have 416 other articles/reviews of artists from US, California in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé