Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag US - Illinois - Full Moon 178 - 03/19/11

Mark Witt
Leave It Alone EP
MW / self-released

Mark Witt has an arresting style in the Americana field with some poppy touches. His debut EP sees him tackle some interesting self-penned songs. The title track sees him do a mid-tempo tune with a rueful lyric that suits him just fine.

"Big Portraits" has him do a slow, haunting song that recalls prime Wilco. His vocal is strong and assured. "Not Gonna Crawl" is one of the strongest songs, as Lexi Bloor adds a sublime vocal to the proceedings. Witt's made a strong debut, may he follow it up soon.

Copyright © 2011 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Fuchsia: S/T (LP+7" 1971/Re 2011 LTD 100)
  • Bass Communion / Pig: Live in Mexico City (LP 2008 LTD 100)
  • Extradition: Hush (LP 1971/Re LTD 450)
  • Genesis: Nursery Cryme (LP 1971/Re 2004)
  • Lonely Kamel: Shit City (LP 2014)
  • Mona & Maria: My Sun (LP 2013 LTD 100)
  • Omar Rodriguez Lopez & John Frusciante: S/T (LP 2012 LTD 1000)
  • Sky Sunlight Saxon / Vibravoid: A Poetry Of Love (LP 2010 LTD 200)
  • Space Witch: Space Witch (2xLP+7" 2015 LTD 25)
  • Spectrum: Geração Bendita (LP 1971/Re 2001 LTD 450)

We also have 101 other articles/reviews of artists from US, Illinois in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé