Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Germany - Full Moon 181 - 06/15/11

Freedom of Noise
Karaoke Kalk

Static is the main solo project of Berlin based musician and producer Hanno Leichtman. Freedom of Noise is his first release as Static since Re:Talking About Memories (2003).

The principle collaborators for the production of Freedom of Noise were harpist Clare Cooper, the trumpet player Axel Dörner, the saxophonist Tobias Delius and the vocalists Falko Teichmann and Yanira Castro. These, and several others then helped to enrich the compositions. And it truly is compositions, and not mere songs, that makes Freedom of Noise. As the name suggest there is a great sense of freedom on this album, both between and within the tunes. It is pretty audible that Static moves freely between arrangements and improvised passages. To genre label Freedom of Noise is therefore a very difficult task. The soundscape ranges from somewhere in the darker space with the instrumental opener "Introduction", to the fine eclectic pop pieces "Stubby Fingers" and "Corazon, Cristal". And then there is the frantic electro-noise of the title track, the neo-folk-ambient "The Boy That Ran Into The Sun", the post-rock borderlining "Sad Rocket" and the slow-paced modern jazz sensation in the closure "Gitarre Melancholisch". Still, it manages to give off a somewhat wholesome feel.

Static has with Freedom of Noise delivered a fascinating and pleasantly experimental pop album.

Copyright © 2011 Aslaug O Klausen e-mail address

You may also want to check out our Static articles/reviews: Flavour has no name, Re: Talking About Memories.

© 2011 Luna Kafé