Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Sweden - Full Moon 190 - 03/08/12

Lisen Elwin
I mitt akvarium
Le Musik/Rootsy

Lisen Elwin has previously released an album in English and been a backing singer. Her Swedish effort sees her reach into various places for inspiration.

"Ensamhet är priset" (Loneliness is the price) is a duet with Stefan Sundström and it's a moving, sad song about love and loss. "Jag läste din blogg" (I read your blog) is about finding out through a blog that an ex-boyfriend behaved in a deceitful way with his next girlfriend as well. The very contemporary problem nonetheless reaches commonplace and timeless woes and it's a lovely song. "Tillsammans" (Together) is a poem left behind by a girl who died of an overdose. Elwin worked at a home for troubled youths and there she me the girl. It's a beautiful, countrified song with a truly moving melody.

"Min enda gäst" (My only guest) ends the album with a hopeful ode to new love set to a sprightly, poppy tune. It's a wonderful album all told.

Copyright © 2012 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Grannie: Grannie (LP 1971/Re 2006 LTD 400)
  • Juan de la Cruz Band: Up In Arms (LP 1971/Re 2000 LTD 450)
  • Kerrs Pink: Tidings (LP 2002/Re 2012 LTD 100)
  • Magnetic Fields: 69 Love Songs (6x10 Box Set 2010)
  • Ruphus: New Born Day (LP 1973/Re 2010 LTD 100)
  • Spectrum: Geração Bendita (LP 1971/Re 2001 LTD 450)
  • Supersilent: 6 (2xLP 2003)
  • Thule: Graks (LP 2010 LTD 300)
  • Van Halen: Deluxe (6xLP BOX 2015)
  • Who: Live At Leeds (3xLP 1970/Re 2016)

We also have 164 other articles/reviews of artists from Sweden in our archive:

© 2012 Luna Kafé