Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Norway - Full Moon 195 - 08/02/12

Tonehjulet Kräftpest

Garden (The Guards), formerly known as Hans Majestet Kongens Garde (His Majesty the King's Guard), a.k.a. HMKG, is a threesome creating organic fuzz pop. They're one of the bands from Tonehjulet Kräftpest, the Halden based label/musical collective/band service/management, and they had a song (credited as H.M.K.G.) on the compilation I Don't Wanna Be A Part Of Your So Called Punk (2010).

The three members of Garden - Ole Laurits Mosseby (vocals and bass), Roy Arne Klemmetsrud (drums and backing vocals) and Anna Karine Brække (vocals and organ) - play catchy and energetic fuzz-drenched pop music, new wave style. Organ, fuzz bass and drums. Simple as that. Pels (Fur) is a mini-album, with 7 songs clocking in at 15 minutes. Excellent! Short and to the point.

Tonehjulet Kräftpest is sort of a musical collective label, meaning that you'll find band members in several of the other bands. Mosseby and Klemmetsrud are found in both Göttemia and Vaya con Satan. Brække is a member of Anti Poison Slammer as well as Lucky Malice. Anyway, with Garden they create positive vibrations in the shape of snappy songs. Such as stand-out tracks "In Reverse", "Together In The Darkness", "Fish", and "Blinded". Both Mosseby and Brække have got charismatic voices. Mosseby's primal vocals makes me recall US band of the late 80s/early 90s, Thin White Rope.

Hey, Garden, nice debut! Consider me a friend. Your Pels is a furry piece of music.

Copyright © 2012 Håvard Oppøyen e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Amanaz: Africa (LP 1975/Re 2008 LTD 450)
  • Dragonwyck: S/T (LP+10" 1970/Re 2008)
  • Hooded Menace: Never Cross The Dead (2xLP 2010 LTD 100)
  • Ihsahn: The Adversary (2xLP 2006/Re 2012 LTD 100)
  • Kerrs Pink: Tidings (LP 2002/Re 2012 LTD 100)
  • Lykathea Aflame: Elvenefris (2xLP 2000/Re 2012 LTD 150)
  • Monstrance: S/T (2xCD 2007)
  • Omar Rodriguez Lopez & John Frusciante: S/T (LP 2012 LTD 1000)
  • Opium Cartel: Night Blooms (LP 2009 LTD 100)
  • Sonne Hagal: Only Echoes Remain (2xLP 2010 LTD 100)

We also have 727 other articles/reviews of artists from Norway in our archive:

© 2012 Luna Kafé