Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag US - California - Full Moon 205 - 05/25/13

The New Slave
Bringing You A Brighter Tomorrow
Raw Onion Records

The New Slave consists of Craig M Clarke, Daniel Crowell and Troy James. Their music is gently psychedelic and is melodic with a modern slant.

"Golden Summer Smile" is an apt title for a woozy-voiced pop ditty with a cool tune. "Love is the Answer, Benjamin" is a dreamy wash of a song that the trio plays well. It harks back to the sixties for inspiration, but has a modern flavor. "Building Spring" is a Beatles-y technicolor dream with a nice hazy mood. "99 Steps (reprise)" closes the album on a good note, a singularly complex and jazzy song that first well with the others. It's a lovely record all told.

Copyright © 2013 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

© 2013 Luna Kafé