Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Australia - Full Moon 209 - 09/19/13

Kirin J Callinan

Kirin J Callinan has a voice all his own on this startling record. Opener "Halo" is an electro rocker with a stunning lead vocal and a sense of displacement. "Come on USA" asserts 'I cry when I listen to Springsteen'. The song has Callinan give a typically raw vocal performance. "Victoria M" is an over the top epic and strangely affecting with it. Callinan emotes against an orchestral swell and really nails the tune. "Chardonnay Sean" is a song with a clear sense of drama and some Britpop tendencies that work well.

As a whole this record moves in a million different but always challenging directions. It's well worth a listen.

Copyright © 2013 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    Vinyl collector? We recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of vinyl records for sale, like:
  • Sister Rain: Promo Box (LP-CD Box 1988 LTD 99)
  • Electric Eye: Different Sun (LP 2016 LTD 100)
  • Extradition: Hush (LP 1971/Re LTD 450)
  • Genesis: Nursery Cryme (LP 1971/Re 2004)
  • Guided By Voices: Propeller (LP 1992/Re 2005)
  • Hedge Hog: Thorn Cord Wonder (6x7 Box 1995 LTD 500)
  • Lykathea Aflame: Elvenefris (2xLP 2000/Re 2012 LTD 150)
  • Omar Rodriguez Lopez & John Frusciante: S/T (LP 2012 LTD 1000)
  • Purple Overdose: Indigo (LP 1990)
  • Spectrum: Geração Bendita (LP 1971/Re 2001 LTD 450)

We also have 214 other articles/reviews of artists from Australia in our archive:

© 2013 Luna Kafé