Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Norway - Full Moon 219 - 07/12/14

Bring It On
Self Destructo Records

Razorbats have members with experience from Norwegian bands Surferosa, Summon The Crows, Sonic Bandits and Gatecrashers. Last year they released their 7" single Ruben's Lost Control, under the name The Heat. Now they are back with a new freshly sharpened name and an EP release with four songs. Judging from the unnecessarily bloody cover this promises to be hard-hitting music, and we are not let down. Razorbats' mixture of sing-along pop-punk choruses, almost-hardcore rock'n'roll and semi-boogie riffing is topped off with a touch of dirty glam. Hanoi Rocks, Turbonegro and Backstreet Girls (Norway's boogie r&r overlords) are all traceable ingredients in this highly energized stew. No doubt Razorbats are a rush experience live, but they will make you thirsty on a record player as well.

Copyright © 2014 Knut Tore Breivik e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    Vinyl collector? We recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of vinyl records for sale, like:
  • Amanaz: Africa (LP 1975/Re 2008 LTD 450)
  • Baroness: Yellow & Green (2xLP Deluxe Book Edition 2012)
  • Deathprod: Deathprod (4xCD Box 2004)
  • Hedge Hog: Thorn Cord Wonder (6x7 Box 1995 LTD 500)
  • Kaleidoscope: S/T (LP 1969/Re 2011 LTD 500)
  • Kerrs Pink: Tidings (LP 2002/Re 2012 LTD 100)
  • Mona & Maria: My Sun (LP 2013 LTD 100)
  • Omar Rodriguez Lopez & John Frusciante: S/T (LP 2012 LTD 1000)
  • Shuttah: The Image Maker Vol. 1 & 2 (LP 1971/Re 2002 LTD 500)
  • Ulver: Messe I.X-VI.X (LP Lent Leather-bound edition 2013 LTD 100)

We also have 727 other articles/reviews of artists from Norway in our archive:

© 2014 Luna Kafé