Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Sweden - Full Moon 225 - 01/05/15

Happy Boy
Slow Records

Svante Törngren, a.k.a. Slowman, has made an album reflecting the passage of time, and growing older. Opener "Time" is an Americana-flavored up-tempo song on that theme, and the lead vocal is strong. "Into Gold" is a reflective song with a very poetic lyric, the backing is solid and bluesy, and that makes for an intriguing contrast. The title song is a slow, undulating song that looks back at childhood with melancholy. "From a Happy Boy to a Man of Sorrow", Törngren sings sadly. "Where The Roses Grow" is a happier piece, Törngren singing to a slow tune. It's a travelogue done right.

It's a fine album all told.

Copyright © 2015 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Farm: S/T (LP 1971/Re 2013 LTD 500)
  • Omar Rodriguez Lopez & John Frusciante: S/T (LP 2012 LTD 1000)
  • Det Elektriske Kjøkken: Elefantene Er Kommet (LP 1982)
  • Freedoms Children: Shadoks Box (3xLP Box 2007)
  • Kaizers Orchestra: 250 Prosent (LP 2008)
  • Kerrs Pink: Tidings (LP 2002/Re 2012 LTD 100)
  • Mogwai: Rave Tapes (LP+12+7+CD+MC BOX 2014)
  • Monstrance: S/T (2xCD 2007)
  • Pearls Before Swine: One Nation Underground (LP 1967/Re 2009 LTD 1000)
  • Space Witch: Space Witch (2xLP+7" 2015 LTD 25)

We also have 164 other articles/reviews of artists from Sweden in our archive:

© 2015 Luna Kafé