Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Sweden - Full Moon 234 - 09/28/15

Bygger skeppet medan det brinner

Swedish band Knivderby (English: Knife fight, or knife race/contest) have been around for years, but I haven't digged into their songs before now. This is a single off their coming, their 8th (!) album, Helvetesön (Hell's island) - which is already out there (on 25 September). Let's return to the full album next moonth.

"Bygger skeppet medan det brinner" (Building the ship whle it's on fire) is a catchy, energetic song by the Stockholm sextet(?), fronted by two (three?) singers, Fredrik Georg Eriksson and Christa Sana, backed by third (?) singer Oscar Svensson, plus Mattias Bladh, Robert Pajnic, and drummer (?) Frans Larsen. Fredrik (?) is the lead singer on "Bygger skeppet...". The vivid and powerful vocals is backed by punchy, punky guitar riffs and driving rhythms. Knivderby hold some of the same punch and attitude as the legendary, Swedish punk band Ebba Grön (and maybe even the 'successor', when Ebba Grön turned into Imperiet - I was impressed by Ebba Grön's/Imperiet's headman Joakim Thåström when he played Oslo in early August). Anyway, Knivderby's 'motto' (according to their Facebook site) is 'Liv, livsgärning och nedstigning i helvetet', meaning (in English) 'Life, lifework, and descending to Hell'. Life's a rock, rolling. Well, "Bygger skeppet..." sounds cool and though, and makes me want to check out some more of their music.

Copyright © 2015 H. 'Slingbladerunner' Oppøyen e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Farm: S/T (LP 1971/Re 2013 LTD 500)
  • Amanaz: Africa (LP 1975/Re 2008 LTD 450)
  • Death In June / Current 93: 1888 (LP 1990 LTD 1000)
  • Dragonwyck: S/T (LP+10" 1970/Re 2008)
  • Extradition: Hush (LP 1971/Re LTD 450)
  • Freedoms Children: Shadoks Box (3xLP Box 2007)
  • Juan de la Cruz Band: Up In Arms (LP 1971/Re 2000 LTD 450)
  • Mogwai: Rave Tapes (LP+12+7+CD+MC BOX 2014)
  • Motorpsycho: Here Be Monsters Vol. 2 (LP+CD 2016)
  • Ruphus: New Born Day (LP 1973/Re 2010 LTD 100)

We also have 164 other articles/reviews of artists from Sweden in our archive:

© 2015 Luna Kafé