Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Norway - Full Moon 65 - 01/28/02

Turdus Musicus
Intimate Noise EP
Fucking North Pole Records

Hard rocking Tromsø combo Turdus Musicus have put out their debut - a 4 song EP on local label Fucking North Pole Records (!). Turdus Musicus (they're young lads, age 17-19) are Carl Christian Lein Størmer (voals, guitar), Johan Grønvik (guitar), Halvard Rundberg (bass, sax, vox), and Timo Silvola (drums). In addition they've brought in Lawra Somby on joik! on two songs ("Change" and "Migonádjá" - the former co-written with Somby, the latter a Sami traditional). And it's working well, being extremely cool and tough!

Musically TM claim to operate a diversity of rock genres, mixing everything within their songs. Pop, punk, metal, hardcore. They've got an aggressive sound, but manage to keep the melodic parts intact, plus being focused on the dynamics. "Twosome" is the grim opener, with guitar riffs like slamming rain, drums like threatning thunder. The catchty, yet gloomy "Honest" is my favorite, but "Migonádjá" is also worth mentioning, because of the incredible mixture of Somby's joik and the power and the energy of the band. Metal polaris!!

TM have received excellent press (locally as well as nationwide) for their skills and powers as live act, which I don't doubt for a second. Sorry guys for missing your gig during the Tromsø International film festival. Some other time. Promise.

Contact: Fucking North Pole Records, att.: Robert Dyrnes, PO Box 327, 9254 Tromsø.

Copyright © 2002 Håvard Oppøyen e-mail address

You may also want to check out our Turdus Musicus article/review: Here Goes!.

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Creation: The Singles Boxset (11x7 Box 2014)
  • Baroness: Yellow & Green (2xLP Deluxe Book Edition 2012)
  • Death In June / Current 93: 1888 (LP 1990 LTD 1000)
  • Haizea: Hontz Gaua (LP 1979/Re 2003)
  • Los Jaivas: El Volantin (LP 1971/Re 2005 LTD 350)
  • Lykathea Aflame: Elvenefris (2xLP 2000/Re 2012 LTD 150)
  • Pekka Pohjola: 4xLP (LP 1972-79/Re 2015 LTD 200)
  • Richard Skelton: Landings (2xLP+CD 2009)
  • Ruphus: New Born Day (LP 1973/Re 2010 LTD 100)
  • Spoils Of War: S/T (LP 1969/Re 1999 LTD 450)

We also have 726 other articles/reviews of artists from Norway in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé