Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag US - California - Full Moon 82 - 06/14/03

The Night Watchmen
Lost in California
Stolen Hat Records

The Night Watchmen's music is great. Vocalist and songwriter Gentry Bornson fronts the band. The music is a mix of americana and alternative rock with a creative twist of cabaret. The songs have lyrics that are very evocative.

"Bootleggers" is a jolly, jazzy tale. It sounds like a happy Nick Cave, if you can imagine such a thing. Jeff Hobbs' saxophone adds a touch of sophistication to the tune. "When I dream of you" is a plaintive yet rhythmic ballad and Bronson's voice is gorgeous when he sings it. "The Devil is Chasing me" swings like there's no tomorrow. "Moonshine Man" is a brilliant song. Bronson describes seedy encounters in a way that feels original.

"Johnny" is a great song about a guy who wishes he was a girl at times. Bronson really gets under his skin.

Lost In California is a fantastic record. It should appeal to anyone who likes good, edgy music.

Copyright © 2003 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    Vinyl collector? We recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of vinyl records for sale, like:
  • Det Elektriske Kjøkken: Elefantene Er Kommet (LP 1982)
  • Freedoms Children: Shadoks Box (3xLP Box 2007)
  • Ghost: If You Have Ghost (12" 2013 LTD 500)
  • Guruh Gipsy: S/T (LP 1977/Re 2006)
  • Hedge Hog: Thorn Cord Wonder (6x7 Box 1995 LTD 500)
  • Jeremy Irons & The Ratgang Malibus: Bloom (LP 2012)
  • Monstrance: S/T (2xCD w/t-shirt 2007)
  • Omar Rodriguez Lopez & John Frusciante: S/T (LP 2012 LTD 1000)
  • Purple Overdose: Indigo (LP 1990)
  • Walflower Complextion: S/T (2xLP 199? LTD 450)

We also have 416 other articles/reviews of artists from US, California in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé