Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag US - New York - Full Moon 84 - 08/12/03

Ezra Reich
Freeze the Night
self released

Ezra Reich's debut feels fresh despite its many influences. The quirkiness of the music recalls David Byrne, David Bowie and Japan. "Strangers" is a prime example of updated 80's new wave. Reich's singing is confident and melodic while the music twitches with the nervous energy of prime Talking Heads. "The Way They Were" is all jerky synths and Bowie-esque harmonies. Reich croons like a born entertainer and a sense of subtle melancholy creeps in. "Star Power" is as flighty and glamorous as the title implies.

"Time's Up!" has a sense of punkish urgency to it while Reich sings as elegantly as ever. Freeze the Night offers a stylish mix of new wave and art rock. It's a fine piece of work.

Copyright © 2003 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    Vinyl collector? We recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of vinyl records for sale, like:
  • Amanaz: Africa (LP 1975/Re 2008 LTD 450)
  • Chrissy Zebby Tembo & Ngozi Family: My Ancestors (LP 1974/Re 2012500 LTD 500)
  • Death In June / Current 93: 1888 (LP 1990 LTD 1000)
  • Jeremy Irons & The Ratgang Malibus: Bloom (LP 2012)
  • Kaleidoscope: S/T (LP 1969/Re 2011 LTD 500)
  • Lonely Kamel: Shit City (LP 2014)
  • Shuttah: The Image Maker Vol. 1 & 2 (LP 1971/Re 2002 LTD 500)
  • Sister Rain: Promo Box (LP-CD Box 1988 LTD 99)
  • Ulver: Messe I.X-VI.X (LP Lent Leather-bound edition 2013 LTD 100)
  • White Willow: Ignis Fatuus (2xLP 1995/Re 2010 LTD 100)

We also have 360 other articles/reviews of artists from US, New York in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé