Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag US - California - Full Moon 139 - 01/22/08

Annie Barker
Mountains and Tumult
Beautiful Revolution Records

Annie Barker's debut is confident and she has a truly gorgeous voice. Her influences come to the fore as she enlists Robin Guthrie of the Cocteau Twins to produce and play some instruments.

Barker sings actual words rather than an invented language and has more of a pop sound than the Cocteaus did. "Revolutionary Rock and Roll" jokes at Chris Martin's expense even as it lays out a heavenly melody. "Pretty Boy Game" is haunting and celestial as Barker sings sharp words. "Elliott's Song" tenderly pays tribute to Elliott Smith who was taken from this world too soon. Barker's voice reaches the heights easily.

The sexually charged "I Want" cascades wonderfully. Throughout Barker is a singer to pay attention to and her debut is fabulous.

Copyright © 2008 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

You may also want to check out our Annie Barker article/review: ...for a better place.

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    Vinyl collector? We recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of vinyl records for sale, like:
  • Hedge Hog: Thorn Cord Wonder (6x7 Box 1995 LTD 500)
  • Kaleidoscope: S/T (LP 1969/Re 2011 LTD 500)
  • Kerrs Pink: Tidings (LP 2002/Re 2012 LTD 100)
  • Lykathea Aflame: Elvenefris (2xLP 2000/Re 2012 LTD 150)
  • Mary Jane: Tacit (LP 2002 LTD 400)
  • Motorpsycho: Demon Box (2xLP 1993/Re 2014 LTD 500)
  • Opium Cartel: Ardor (LP 2014)
  • Psychic TV: Dreams Less Sweet (LP+CD 1983/Re 2012 LTD 320)
  • Rolling Stones: Sticky Fingers (3xCD+DVD+7 Box 2015)
  • Walflower Complextion: S/T (2xLP 199? LTD 450)

We also have 416 other articles/reviews of artists from US, California in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé