Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag Canada - Full Moon 143 - 05/20/08

Matt Stern
Songs For The Wandering Spirit

Canada's Matt Stern makes relaxed music and sings in several languages on his new album. His soft tone recalls Jack Johnson or Damien Rice but his stories are all his own.

"New Beginning" is a song about a crumbling relationship. The mood is still laidback and the tone hopeful rather than sad. "Good Boy" is reminiscent of the aforementioned Jack Johnson with gently strummed guitar and soft vocal. Lyrically it offers advice to a depressed youth without being too judgmental. "Dis-moi que tu m'amies" sung in French, is a sweet little love song. Sarah Cochrane lends a nice duet vocal and adds nicely to the song. "Baile de olas" sung in English and Spanish, has an upbeat melody and Stern sounds like a young Elvis Costello. This album is nicely wrought and should make Stern some new fans.

Copyright © 2008 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    Vinyl collector? We recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of vinyl records for sale, like:
  • Clash: The Singles (19x7 Box 2006)
  • Cranium Pie: Mechanisms Pt.1 (LP 2011 LTD 100)
  • Deathprod: Deathprod (4xCD Box 2004)
  • Electric Eye: Different Sun (LP 2016 LTD 100)
  • Extradition: Hush (LP 1971/Re LTD 450)
  • Handgjort: S/T (2xLP 1970/Re 2010)
  • Jeremy Irons & The Ratgang Malibus: Bloom (LP 2012)
  • Mogwai: Rave Tapes (LP+12+7+CD+MC BOX 2014)
  • Motorpsycho: Demon Box (2xLP 1993/Re 2014 LTD 500)
  • Rolling Stones: Sticky Fingers (3xCD+DVD+7 Box 2015)

We also have 200 other articles/reviews of artists from Canada in our archive:

© 2011 Luna Kafé