Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag US - California - Full Moon 204 - 04/25/13

Ted Russell Kamp
Night Owl
Po Mo Records

Ted Russell Kamp has a long history of making good records, and this one is no exception.

"Smile Alone" opens the proceedings, a melancholy reflection on love and life that he and his band handles well. "Fireflies" is a sensitive song with a nicely observed lyric and a fabulous tune. "The Last Drop" is a jazzy drinking song with a late night mood that's well evoked. Kamp really has a good way with these things. "My Heart Has a Mind of Its Own" is an amazingly evocative song that hardly breaks new ground, but has genuine warmth to it. It's a wonderful album with a very pleasing sound.

Copyright © 2013 Anna Maria Stjärnell e-mail address

You may also want to check out our Ted Russell Kamp article/review: Divisadero.

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    If you like vinyl we recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of collectable items for sale, like:
  • Dragonwyck: S/T (LP+10" 1970/Re 2008)
  • Extradition: Hush (LP 1971/Re 2000 LTD 450)
  • Grace Jones: Warm Leatherette (4xLP BOX 1980/Re 2016)
  • Grannie: Grannie (LP 1971/Re 2006 LTD 400)
  • In Gowan Ring: Full Flower Moon (10" 2014 LTD 99)
  • Monstrance: S/T (2xCD 2007)
  • Psychic TV: Dreams Less Sweet (LP+CD 1983/Re 2012 LTD 320)
  • Spectrum: Geração Bendita (LP 1971/Re 2001 LTD 450)
  • Supersilent: 6 (2xLP 2003)
  • Ulver: Messe I.X-VI.X (LP Lent Leather-bound edition 2013 LTD 100)

We also have 415 other articles/reviews of artists from US, California in our archive:

© 2013 Luna Kafé