Luna Kafé e-zine  Luna Kafé record review
coverpic flag US - California - Full Moon 231 - 07/02/15

Capitol Records / Fonograf

And, yes, Beck is back on the dance floor, with his new (digital) single "Dreams" - which is a teaser from his new project, a record also entitled Dreams. At least it is the 'working title'.

Unlike the overall laidback melancholia of last year's album, Morning Phase, "Dreams" shows a more playful, whimsical Beck, with a more softly aggressive, yet whimsically energetic guitar line paired with some deep, rocking beats. It is a swirling, circling song, and it goes: 'Running circles around around around around... / When nothing's right just close your eyes close your eyes and you're gone, and the whole feel is a feelgood track of the love-song kind. 'Dreams Dreams Dreams Dreams / She's making me high, she's making me high'. There is a small part midway through which makes me briefly think of a slightly annoying song from my teenage past: Men At Work's "Down Under". However, this is just a brief glimpse. And I might be totally wrong. "Dreams" is a catchy song which is raising the expectations for Beck's next album move.

Copyright © 2015 H. Oppøyen e-mail address

You may also want to check out our Beck articles/reviews: Defriended, GUAU! (Wow M.I.S. remix), Gimme, Guero, I Just Started Hating Some People Today, I Won't Be Long, Los Angeles Song Reader Show, Morning Phase, Odelay, Sea Change, Wow.

If you wish to print this review, we have a printer friendly version.

    Vinyl collector? We recommend a visit to VinylKnut's Loft listing hundreds of vinyl records for sale, like:
  • Amanaz: Africa (LP 1975/Re 2008 LTD 450)
  • Chrissy Zebby Tembo & Ngozi Family: My Ancestors (LP 1974/Re 2012500 LTD 500)
  • Deathprod: Deathprod (4xCD Box 2004)
  • Dragonwyck: S/T (LP+10" 1970/Re 2008)
  • Guruh Gipsy: S/T (LP 1977/Re 2006)
  • I.E.M. Steven Wilson: Arcadia Son (LP 2001 LTD 500)
  • In Gowan Ring: Full Flower Moon (10" 2014 LTD 99)
  • Opium Cartel: Ardor (LP 2014)
  • Pearls Before Swine: One Nation Underground (LP 1967/Re 2009 LTD 1000)
  • White Willow: Ignis Fatuus (2xLP 1995/Re 2010 LTD 100)

We also have 405 other articles/reviews of artists from US, California in our archive:

© 2015 Luna Kafé